Au Revoir 2016…….It’s Been Strange (My Thoughts)

Today the calendar tells me it’s the final day of the year 2016.

I admit normally I get a wee bit sentimental reflecting on the year. Often times I am somewhat saddened to see the year come to its end, yet at the same time I feel a sense of excitement anticipating what the next year will bring. But this is not the case this year.

In essence, 2016 was not a bad year for me. And with this thought I shall begin. This year brought me many fine gifts. My sister Judy found a job where she is not only valued but she truly likes the company and the personnel. Well-done Judy. Margaret, another of my sisters, relocated a mere 15 minutes from us. The Three Musketeers ride once again. Welcome to Florida Margaret. We are so happy you are here. Laissez les bons temps rouler!!!! In April I was fortunate to once again travel to England. What a trip! Not only was the weather with us but we accidentally happened to see the Queen at Windsor Castle, and I was privileged to see not one but two of Bellowhead’s finale shows. And if that was not enough I had the honour of attending a Bellowhead after show session AND played Jon Boden’s fiddle. What a dream come true!

Both my sister Cathy and her husband Wayne battled two various forms of cancer together and have survived. Take that you horrible, wretched disease! One day we shall never see you again! And my brother Don and my sister-in-law September found themselves once again relocating to a new home in Athens, Georgia that is far closer to us than New Hampshire. The Hoeler siblings are once again close to each other.

This year we found more adventures than we dreamed. And 2017 will only host more for us. That I am sure.

So now, unfortunately, I must now look at the not so nice side of 2016. The side where the world lost. And a part of me lost with it…..

Let’s start with horrible terror that took place in Nice while the town celebrated Bastille Day. This was yet another sign that nasty people are still alive and thriving. But these people did not steal the heart and strength of those citizens in France nor the rest of the world that watched in horror. Lest us forget the act of silence bestowed on those lost by the leads in Le Tour de France…..Chris Froome (Sky), Peter Sagan (Tinkoff), Thomas De Gendt (Lotto Soudal), Adam Yates (Orica-GreenEdge) and stage winner Tom Dumoulin (Giant-Alpecin) paid their respects on the podium.

Then there was the vote for Brexit. The only positive outcome was David Cameron’s resignation. Now the country faces a future of uncertainty. Time will tell if their decision was right.

But of course my country faced the Comedy of Errors also known as the Presidential Election. While Clinton won the popular vote, the Electoral College saw Trump become our President Elect. God help us all. I can only hope he surprises us all and proves me wrong. Sadly I face the future fearing this will not be the case. Unfortunately I lost friends over this election. Friends who could only say they were right and dismissed my views as incompetent. Their loss. Not mine.

Finally this year stole a lot of well-known people from us. And the list is long. So I will focus on a few that hit home most for me. As a writer, death’s stealing of our authors hit me hard. Harper Lee, best known for “To Kill a Mockingbird” and Richard Adams author of “Watership Down” both left this world but left their mark on us all. I can rant a litany of all the artists that left us way too soon… David Bowie, Prince, Glenn Fry, Alan Thicke, George Michael…. All of which I grew up with. But Alan Rickman hit me the most. Such a talent with so many characters with which I wanted to share dinner and never will. They shall all be missed greatly.

Now there are only 3 hours and 35 minutes roughly until this year has its final curtain call. Will I miss the good times? Of course. Will I miss the bad times? Not at all but I grew from them.

So what do I look forward to? A fantastic year. A year of opportunity. A year of growth. A year to succeed and a year of happiness.

Personally for me, I look forward to the world meeting my heroine Cayla in my first novel that I hope to publish next year. She’s a really likeable person I promise. I have my sisters Judy and Margaret to thank for going on this ride with me. My novel is my freedom and I look so forward to being free!

I look forward to the adventures of the Three Musketeers and all the joys life offers.

Let’s all make 2017 a good year. Let’s make it best year. Let’s take this New Year and make it something to behold. Make opportunities don’t wait for them. Take chances; don’t let them pass you by. And love each other. Because love is all we really have.

Carpe diem my friends!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

